A four-legged thank you

I feel compelled to blog tonight about one of the most important things in my life and that is having animal companions. I can’t remember a time in my life when animals have not been part of it. 

Today my little adopted bunny friend Coco had his third dental operation and I am ready for a weekend of nursing him. So I find it hard to comprehend why people abuse animals. Why do we need to have a week long series, Animal Rescue Live, to find new homes for the abandoned pets? Why do we have such low sentences for animal cruelty?

Animals bring so much love into our lives. From the smallest gerbil, and I have shared my life with many of them, to the largest horse, and I have one of those, they ask for little and give a lot. They teach us about responsibility, about caring and about putting others first. They provide us with therapy and help us relax, and they teach us so much about ourselves. 

All they ask for is food, water, shelter and lots of love. They don’t judge us or say hurtful things. They don’t make demands or  worry about what people think of them. They just are. Every minute of every day they are caught in the moment which has to be the essence of mindfulness.

I am very grateful for all the animals that I have had the privilege of sharing my life with. They have all taught me so much, given me so much and helped me on this rollercoaster life. There has been heartache along the way and worrying moments like today as I waited for news about Coco the bunny but that is just a small part of what we share.

I would not be without animals in my life particularly my current buddies – Edward the horse, Coco the bunny and Dave and Albert gerbil. 

Tell me about your furry friends and why they are important to you. 

This entry was posted in happiness, kindness, learning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

