Another day, another thought

What did you do today? Did you go to work? Was time taken up looking after the children, doing family things, or perhaps going shopping? It is so easy for us to get caught up in these day-to-day activities and to lose sight of the bigger picture – the reason why we do things.

I had an interesting Facebook post that popped up a year on which said ‘stay close to anything that makes you glad to be alive’. It is a sentiment worth considering in the busy hustle and bustle of life in 2017. Today was the ideal time for it to be brought to the forefront of my thoughts as I have had more than a few things on my mind.

In my younger years I moved jobs quite regularly. I acquired new experiences and developed my skills. But since 1999 I have been working in police communication roles and for the past 16 years for the same organisation. It is easy for me to forget why I am still in the same place albeit in a slightly different role from the one when I started. The reason I do it is that on the whole all things considered it is something I enjoy doing. It gives me a purpose to my day and I know I am lucky as many people are in jobs they don’t like.

For the past 30 years I have been in the same relationship. It is quite an achievement and despite the ups and downs and the challenges we have faced it is still a strong partnership. So what does that all mean?

It means that despite the daily challenges, the routine, the domestic chores and the distractions I have those things that matter to me really close. I just don’t always notice it or be grateful for it. Instead I get focused on the frustration, the things that don’t go right, the bill that arrives in the post, and what I don’t have.

A year ago we lost a good friend who died far too early. It was an important reminder of the need to grasp each day, to see the positive and to keep what matters to you close. Tomorrow is another day and it will be a bright one.

This entry was posted in challenge, communication, happiness, police, policing, work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another day, another thought

  1. Linda O'Neil says:

    So true, and it’s great to have your blogs pop into my inbox and remind me of what really matters in life. As you say, we all know what matters but get carried away with the here and now. It’s good to have things put into perspective.

    Like

Leave a Reply

