Stronger together

As I sat having a coffee and waiting for the train to arrive, Facebook showed me the blog I wrote on this day last year. It was about the Brussels terrorist attack and it felt like only a few days ago that we were watching the horror unfold. I carried on my journey.

I got the train to London; I caught two tubes and then arrived at my destination. I did the work I needed to do and then headed back home via a short walk, two tubes and a train. The weather was cold and wet as people rushed about in the way you only find in the capital city. The scenes were the same as those that happen every day of the year.

When I left home this morning it never entered my head that I might not make it home. Today’s events in London are a reminder of how precious life is and that we should treasure every day. My thoughts and love go out to those who have been affected by the terrible incident this afternoon. I saw a look of relief on my mum’s face when she saw me tonight and she gave me a huge hug.

Today also reminded us that when terror strikes and people run the other way police officers are running forward and straight into danger. I have worked in the police service for 18 years and I still am amazed by the acts of heroism that take place all the time and particularly when the worst situation occurs. There was an award ceremony taking place tonight here in Manchester where police officers were receiving commendations for their bravery, hard work and dedication. The events of today have made the awards tonight even more poignant. Recognising the efforts of the police and emergency services is important but more than that it is essential.

We rely on people being willing to put their lives on the line to keep us safe and protect us from harm. They know they may pay the ultimate price and their families live with the potential that they will lose their loved one. I can only say thank you to all those people who are brave enough to put on a uniform every day and go out to do the toughest of jobs.

This has been a shocking day and I still can’t quite believe what has happened. Tomorrow we will all be going about our normal business but I hope we take some time out to think about those who have been affected by what happened. My thoughts tonight and tomorrow will be with them but I know that we remain strongest when we join together whether we are members of the public or part of the police service.

This entry was posted in crisis communication, emergency services, police, policing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

