Am I a work junkie?

The end of the year is approaching and after the Christmas festivities are over we will be racing towards the end of the financial year. It is a time of reflection and that is what is on my mind. I have lots of holidays that I have still not taken from work and this year seems to have been punctuated by events in the office. It made me challenge myself on a few things.

If you have read any of my blogs this year or in previous years you will know that I love my job – most of the time. I have a passion for communication and it is something that is on my mind all the time. I like to take opportunities that arrive and that means often packing a lot of work into each day and week. Does that make me a workaholic? I am not sure so I decided to analyse the past few weeks.

On Monday I was a bit grumpy. I couldn’t explain it which made it all the more frustrating. But the day was relatively quiet after a few weeks of working flat out and not really switching off even at the weekend. I know that I really struggle to switch off and as communication is 24/7 and I am always connected to social media I rarely do it. I like it when things are busy which is why I like my job. There is a real adrenalin rush that happens when work is busy.  I enjoy the challenges that I face and the decisions that have to be made.

This makes those quieter days a real chore and a time when I can really struggle to get motivated. I am really starting to think that I am addicted to work or have even become a work junkie getting my fix every day, during weekends and holidays. So if that is the case what should I do? This is a question I am still struggling to answer. I am going to try and make the most of the days off I have over Christmas and will see what I can do to switch off, turning off my work phone (or perhaps just not looking at the emails), and I will focus my energies into spending quality time with my family and friends.

Don’t ask me to go cold turkey – even at Christmas. But I would welcome any suggestions about managing my habit.

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, challenge, communication, PR, work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Am I a work junkie?

  1. suztara says:

    I can relate to that! Going for a ride or long walk/exercise helps to unwind and put a different perspective on things I find, and then spend less time checking email/social networks/working – or be strict to only spend an hour (or however long) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

