Small is beautiful 

Today is small business Saturday, a time that we are all supposed to consider giving our support to small retailers.  In the past few years it has become a pre-Christmas staple. I think it is a great idea given that the high street may not be dead but it is certainly in need of urgent care.

I didn’t get a chance to do much shopping today but as I drove past the large supermarkets I could see many people choosing convenience above everything else.

My general approach is to try to shop local and with small retailers both at Christmas and during the rest of the year.  A lot of this is online – it has to be as the local shopping areas have slowly been taken over. With small businesses you generally get better choice, better customer service and unique products.

I have found Facebook a great way of getting in touch with those sole traders who have a skill at making a particular thing. When I reflect on this year there are a huge proportion of my shopping that has been done through Facebook. Don’t get me wrong, I shop at large stores because I have little alternative when it comes to the essentials. But I try wherever possible to support small businesses.

I hope that today’s push through small business Saturday will have brought some much needed cash into those retailers that we all need to take care of. Let’s hope it lasts longer than one day.

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, Christmas, facebook, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

