That was the week

It has been another busy week with some long days and late nights. Surprisingly though it hasn’t had a negative impact on me and I have wondering why? One of the reasons has to be that I am dealing with a small health issue I had so now I find I have got a lot more energy. But that alone cannot be the reason that I am still feeling resilient. I put the positive mood down to five things.

  1. I have still been able to spend time doing what I enjoy – even though I have struggled once again to fit everything into my day I have spent some quality time with my horse, my gerbils and my family. This is always a great way to recharge my batteries and put me in the right frame of mind for the following day.
  2. The team has remained strong and supportive – having a strong support network is essential particularly in this busy, modern world. I have blogged before about the importance of this for resilience. Both at home and work I have some amazing and supportive friends and family.
  3. We have maintained a sense of humour – the work in the office may have been significant and the challenges many, but we have still kept a positive and light-hearted approach as much as possible. As I sit here tonight I am trying to find something funny to watch on television to continue to help my mood.
  4. I feel valued – even though it has been a really busy time I have been able to see the work as valuable and felt as though I was able to make a difference. There is also recognition that the work is valued by the organisation and senior people, which has a huge impact on how you feel.  Recognition is an important factor for most people at work.
  5. I have been taking it one step at a time – and this is a key element. I have a huge amount that needed to be done this week and more to do next week. The important thing is to make the situation as manageable as possible. It means breaking things down and taking it one step at a time.

I have put my feet up now and am unwinding but still feeling able to deal with what I have on, and that is resilience.

 

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, blog, blogs, challenge, communication, work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

