A poppy and a moment of reflection

Remembrance Sunday has featured strongly in my life from a very young age. I remember church services that we went to when at primary school and also I was once at my grandparents and saw the impact on them of the day. It is easy for us to feel very detached from the First and Second World Wars and also from events that are taking place around the world.

I commented the other day on the fact that I hadn’t seen many people wearing a poppy when I walked through Manchester. It always seemed more people were doing it when I was a child. Perhaps that is just the perception I have that has become affected by the passage of time. There was an interesting article on Sky News on Friday which was about whether people should have to wear a poppy.

Wearing a poppy should be your own personal choice. I know that people can remember the sacrifices people, and animals, have made to secure the safety and freedom of others in many ways. Just because someone isn’t wearing a poppy it doesn’t mean they are not grateful to all those people throughout history. They may be marking things in a different way. I choose to wear a poppy because I want to feel a connection to my ancestors who had to deal with some horrific circumstances and come face-to-face with them.

Today when 11am came I stopped and had a moment of reflection away from the busy activity of the stables. I always do it no matter where I am. I hope that other people find their own way of reflecting and remembering. My moment of reflection was made more poignant when I remembered those who had lost their lives as a result of acts of terrorism. It was 12 months ago when Paris was attacked and 130 people lost their lives. Today I remembered them and those throughout history.

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

