Walk in my shoes

Working in the public sector makes you appreciate what people do on a daily basis within the emergency services, councils and health services. I see how people go out of their way to try to provide the best possible service even following cuts that have reduced the staffing numbers. We often have to deal with disgruntled people who are not happy with the service they have received. It is easy to forget that although there are thousands of calls each day they are 100 per cent to the person who makes contact.

I was today on the receiving end of a public service. In short I had to go and get some blood tests done and this takes place at the local infirmary. Everything was fine and I took my number and waited for my turn. I was quite nervous as I have had problems giving blood in the past. When I got in to see the nurse I was dealt with efficiently, that is all I can say. I had my blood test done, there was a minimum of fuss and then I left. Nothing much to complain about.

But I felt like a number. The experience I had was not horrible but it was not personal and when this involves health issues it makes it harsh. To deal with my nerves I tried to talk to the nurse and she did say they carried out up to 300 tests a day. I can appreciate that they need to deal efficiently with people to get things done. However, I just can’t help but think that they should remember to me it was the only blood test done during the day.

All public services need to frequently walk in the shoes of the people they serve so they can understand the good and also see where improvements need to be made. I could not criticise the experience I had, but I can’t help thinking it could have been better.

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, communication, emergency services, public, society and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

