Helping hands

It is easy to get caught up in your own world. The busy bits of day-to-day life take over and occupy our thoughts. If we are not careful we rarely look up and see what is happening around us. How are our friends and family? Who is doing well and more importantly who needs some support?

Today I made a conscious effort to try to think about other people. I wanted to be helpful where I could be and to do more for those around me. It isn’t easy and has left me realising that my thoughts are all too often focused on myself. The situation was particularly noticeable when I was being delayed on my journey be a large group of cyclists. My focus was on where I wanted to be and the frustration I was feeling. I was annoyed by their selfishness and lack of thought for others.

I continue to try and realise that I can’t change anyone else’s thoughts. The only thoughts I can change are my own. The only person who suffered from the encounter with the cyclists was me as my blood pressure was raised. Much better would be to relax and move on.

There are so many ways that we can think about others from letting people move in front of us when driving through junctions to contacting someone we haven’t seen for a while. I have blogged before about the importance of the little things and the tiny gestures that can show how much you care for those around you. It is so easy to forget these things when you are focusing on what you want to achieve in the day.

I will be trying to do this again. Watch out if you meet me in the next week or so as I am going to be finding ways to help out others but also to manage my own responses to situations I will face. If you are going to try helping others then let me know what happens.

 

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, blog, kindness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Helping hands

  1. #deep insight
    Lovely 👌👌

    Like

Leave a Reply

