Here and now

I am in a reflective mood tonight after I had a sudden awakening driving to work this morning. As I was heading into the office I was struck with the thought that this is not a dress rehearsal. We only get one life and we need to make the most of it.

With our ability to watch television as we want to, checking out sections twice, rewinding back to the beginning, it is easy to lose sight of the fact that we don’t have that choice in life. We may be able to look back on what happened or consider what may be in the future but it is the present that matters.

During this year there have been many significant events that have reminded me that I need to make the most of what I have and of where my life is at this moment in time. It is an idea that is at the heart of all the mindfulness discussion. Being in the moment can be an important way to reduce stress and the pressures of modern life. It focuses our minds on the here and now and not the tomorrow or the yesterday.

As I drove to work, I realised that I need to make every day matter in some way. If there are things that make me happy, or that I want to achieve then I need to stop discussion, thinking and considering and start doing. It is easy to let the day-to-day mundane aspects of life take over and take control. I know that there are things we have to do to survive each day but they should not occupy all of our time. Again, I know this is easy for me to say as I am not struggling to survive.

I wondered whether my thoughts were negative and could be seen as quite depressing, but I don’t think they are. In fact, we can start to see the recognition that we have each day only once as liberating if we choose to. We just need to make each 24 hours count.

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, challenge, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

