Holiday lessons for work

On Friday night it feels the right time to reflect on what I have learnt this week. It has been a great week as I have been on holiday and have had the chance to rest and recharge my batteries. As normal, it has been a staycation and although I have checked the news on a daily basis it hasn’t felt like work. So, here are five points of note from the past five days:

  1. Stepping off the grindstone can bring clarity. This isn’t something startlingly new but being able to step away from the day-to-day pressures of work can clear your mind. I have found it easier to see the priorities for the next six months and the things I need to achieve. It has also allowed me to let the more creative part of my brain get busy. I may be stating the obvious but I need to give myself this opportunity on a more regular basis.
  2. It isn’t wrong to ask for help or to take support. We all can benefit from a helping hand or two from those around us. We need to stop seeing taking help as a sign of weakness and instead see it as a sign of strength. Many people will keep grinding away and may never see the support that could make the difference between success and failure. I know I need to take the help when it is offered.
  3. Connecting and reconnecting with people is an important part of life. I have had the chance to catch up with many old and new friends this week. It has been great to be able to chat through latest news and events as well as discuss other issues about modern life. I have written many times on this blog about how important social interaction is to us, and as human beings we crave it. We should all prioritise face-to-face engagement.
  4. Animals have the ability to relax and destress me. I know this is not something that everyone will agree with but when I have animals in my life I am a much happier person. Spending time with animals is a great way for me to switch off from the daily pressures and I am sure my blood pressure reduces.
  5. Communication and PR is important to me even when I am not in work. I can’t switch off from the subject as it is something that I am passionate about. Whether it is writing a blog, watching the news or checking my emails (which is a habit I can’t stop) I find that the world of PR and communication features heavily in my day. It doesn’t matter whether it is during holidays or at weekends. And as I sit here I actually don’t mind and quite like having a passion.

I hope that I can remember these important points when I step back into the hectic world of work on Monday morning.

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, blog, challenge, communication, PR, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

