Enforced isolation

Today I had to go through some enforced hibernation. Illness had meant I was confined at home with aching joints that prevented me doing much. It was incredibly frustrating and has felt like a wasted day for me.

I know I have to look at this in a more positive way. To start with I have managed to do a little bit of work and have made it clear what I need to prioritise when I am back in work. The key at the moment is trying not to stress about what I haven’t been able to do because I have been snoozing and trying to recover.

The other thing is that I have been able to catch up on some much needed sleep. This isn’t the way I would have wanted to do it but I suppose my body was telling me that I needed to take some time to fight this cold bug. Still, I hope that I will come out of this by feeling a bit livelier than I have in the past week.

I have found the past 24 hours frustrating. I don’t think I could live on my own but it made me consider the startling statistics about how much time older people spend on their own and without speaking to anyone. It is scary to realise how isolated those people are and surely there must be more that we can all do to help tackle this?

What has become obvious today is that without seeing people I struggle to keep up with the time. In fact time started to have little relevance to me. I had no-one to talk to or share things with and I felt as though I was on the fringes of modern life.

But I can get in my car and drive to family, friends and work. I can talk to people and I can share things. Today is hopefully just one day where I have had to experience what the older people can have stretching endlessly out in front of them. Time for change.

 

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, communication, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

