Exhausted but happy

Yesterday was one of the most stressful working days I have had in a long time. In recent years I have had some challenging times at work but nothing like putting myself through the testing day to try and achieve Chartered PR Practitioner status. When things matter to you, you want to do your best, and believe me this mattered.

I have been working in PR and communication roles since 1998 after I left my work as a journalist. It is something I have enjoyed in different organisations and also something that I am passionate about. It is why I spend a lot of time reading, writing and discussing it, and why I appear to be a little obsessed.

For the last three years I have wanted to achieve Chartered status but it has always seemed to be just out of reach. When 2016 came I set myself a number of goals to achieve and gaining Chartered status was one of them. Since early in the year I have stopped doing some of my other interests and things that drain my time. I have instead been focused on preparing, studying and making sure I could keep my mind on one important thing.

In the week or so before the test day I lurched from feeling as though I was prepared and could take on any challenge, to feeling as though I knew nothing. It wasn’t just a testing time for me but it was for those around me. It is difficult to be cheer and happy when you are stressing about passing an exam. So this is also a little apology to those at home, work and who may have met me in the last week or so, sorry that I was extra grumpy.

In the end the day was everything I had expected; challenging, stressful, headache inducing, and also enjoyable. It is something I will remember for a long time for the people who were so friendly and I think there are some friendships definitely forged out of the stress of yesterday. I am obviously delighted to have been awarded Chartered PR Practitioner status. It feels like recognition of almost 20 years in PR and communication roles and all the time and work I put in to trying to do the best I can for wherever I am working. It is also recognition of all the support I have had over the years from some amazing people who have believed in me. So the final thing is to say a huge thank you to all those people, too many to mention, but you know who you are.

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, CIPR, communication, PR, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

