One step at a time

It has been a long week and at the end of it I suddenly went into a panic realising the huge amount of things I need to do before Monday. There is an increasing list of both work and home chores that I have to tackle before this week ends. It feels overwhelming and I am struggling with the situation. Like many people, this can drag me down and affect my mental wellbeing. So what do you do?

After giving myself a severe talking to I realised that I had to do something to sort the situation out. There is nothing to be achieved by wasting time worrying. It was time to take control. I think control is one of the most critical things that we need to have when facing a challenge. It means we are starting to get a grip of things.

Tasks we face can feel huge and where to start is not easy. That is the time when we have to take things in bite-sized chunks. One step at a time means we can move from where we are to where we want to be. The key is something that can be really tedious for some and that is planning. Before we rush into a task we need to assess it and break it down into sections that are achievable.

So that is what I am planning to do this weekend. I will be investing some time in working through the steps I need to take to get where I need to be early next week. Over the course of the weekend I can then do those small steps and with some grit and determination I will get there.

If you are feeling overwhelmed by some work or a task that needs to be achieved then try my three steps:

  1. Take a deep breath and tell yourself you can get where you need to be
  2. Realise that you can take control
  3. Plan, plan, plan and break the task down into sections

Above all keep positive and know that you can complete the task if you stop worrying and start doing.

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, challenge, communication, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

