The rock in a storm

We often don’t recognise how much we get from one place. I mean in terms of support, guidance, advice and lots of love. It isn’t something that everyone has and over the recent years I have come to realise how fortunate I am to have this place to go in times of crisis, stress and dilemmas.

The place I am talking about is my family. Family does not have a fixed location, and it doesn’t have a physical form. It is all around me. Even when I am away from home I know that there is strong support all around me. When I was growing up most of my relatives were many miles away down South but that didn’t matter because I had a connection that helped me to understand who I was and who I am.

Family are the people I turn to when I have had a bad day. They are the people I turn to when I need to discuss a problem, and they are the people I know can always be relied upon when I need help. At the heart of this I am lucky to have two fabulous parents. I have benefitted from their help and I hope as I have grown older they know they can rely on my help.

It is easy to take this supportive network for granted. There are times when we get so caught up in our own lives that we fail to think about anyone else. We assume that what we have is what everyone has. Wrong. There are so many people, children, teenagers and adults who don’t have that support around them. Often through no fault of their own they have only got themselves to rely upon. The world is a harsh and dangerous place and it makes me sad to find people on their own trying to survive.

Today and tomorrow take some time to recognise what you have and say thank you to the family you have around you whoever they are and wherever they are. And remember that you can be someone’s family, you don’t have to be related you just have to care.

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

