Finding the good around us

I am sat tonight watching the news again and I am feeling quite sad about the state of the world. There are some truly horrific stories that are being detailed not least the terrible murder of a toddler, the death of a police officer and concerns about the Rio Olympics in a few months.

At the end of a hard week it isn’t really what anyone wants to see. But I think we have to if we are going to understand how we can have a positive impact on the world we live in. Friday night may be a time for going out with friends or unwinding after the working week but perhaps we can also use it as a time to take stock. How have we helped people in the past five days? How have we left a positive impact on those around us?

All too often we become focused on our own wants and desires. The chance of enjoying ourselves, the lure of the bar and letting your hair down overtakes any other thoughts. Don’t misunderstand me, I enjoy myself and like to unwind. But I also like to take the chance of being reflective and assessing what the past five days have brought.

We need to be able to make sense of those terrible stories and horrific headlines, and I think the best way to do that is see the positive that is being achieved around you. There are positive things happening every day and random acts of kindness that can lift our spirits. I am lucky in the work I do I get the opportunity to see some of the most positive things that people do, but unfortunately it also means I see some of the worst of human behaviour.

As we head towards two days of relaxing and spending time with loved ones we can focus on the positive and hold on to what is good around us.

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, happiness, kindness, media, society, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

