Give a little, gain a lot

There is never enough time in the day, but my day has been one where giving a little has featured on a number of occasions. You could say that we all give a lot, on many days, at work when we are doing our jobs. I know that there are many days when I am left feeling the impact of work for many, many reasons. But do we, and should we, give something back to a whole range of things?

It might be giving something to our local community, our family, work, the industry sector that we work in or just society in general, but do we find time to do it? I work with some amazing people, which I have spoken about many times in previous blogs, and they give a lot of themselves to help others. Today there were a number of discussions about what we can give to the community but also to colleagues as part of charity events. This wasn’t an unusual situation as such conversations happen quite regularly.

Tonight I went to my first Chartered Institute of Public Relations (CIPR) North West meeting to offer my support to the PR industry. It is a way of me being able to help others working in the career that I love, and particularly, to help those who are just starting in the business. It is early days and I am not sure what I am going to be able to give but the intention is to get involved and share one of the most precious things I have – time.

It is easy for us all to get caught up in the speed, pace and pressure of daily life. We can find ourselves focusing on what we need, want and are working to achieve without any thought to anyone or anything else. This can’t be right. We all have a lot that we can share and give to others.

Of course in giving to others we do gain ourselves in skills and experience and just feeling as though we have been able to help. With all the pressures we have in 2016, now should be the time that we decide to get involved in some way and give something to others.

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, blog, Chartered Institute of Public Relations, CIPR, communication, kindness, PR, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

