Space and gratitude

I have been in a reflective mood today probably because I had some time on my hands and a day off work. It made me realise that in the busy week when I am rushing from one thing to another, dashing from work to the stables and vice versa I often forget to focus on what matters.

For the past 18 months I have been trying to change my perspective on lots of things and develop a more positive outlook. It hasn’t been easy because it goes against my nature cynicism and ‘glass half empty’ approach. My position is usually to expect the worst and that way you are less likely to be disappointed. But that isn’t the best way to live your life, or certainly it isn’t for me.

I want to make sure I can enjoy every day I have and be as happy as possible. Taking a negative position is never going to be the best way to achieve that. So, I have set about learning tips and techniques that can help me to change my perspective. At the end of 2014 I was lucky enough to be drawn to a special person who is a life coach among other things. It all sounds a bit odd but trust me it was an important meeting.

One of the key exercises that play an important part in assisting my mood is to spend time recognising what I have and being grateful for it. This sounds like such a small thing and in some ways it is but it has such a big impact. It can change your mind set really quickly. We rarely focus on what we have got and instead prefer to focus on what we haven’t got. The gaps in our lives become our focus.

During the past seven days I have neglected this and that definitely hasn’t helped my state of mind and sense of happiness. After a day to reflect and consider recent events I am now back on track, I have so much to be grateful for and that is definitely worth remembering

 

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, happiness, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

