New skills, new friends and a bit of vegan fun

I have been trying to develop my knowledge of vegan cooking during the past year or so. It is really quite a challenge to understand what you can eat and how things can be replaced to make a recipe vegan. This becomes even more of a problem when you want to do some baking. I find baking very relaxing so the two things appeared to be on conflict.

Five weeks ago I received an exciting Christmas present from my mum and dad – a course on vegan baking with the Vegetarian Society. It sounded great and I have been looking forward to it. This week though I have been getting more and more apprehensive about the experience. In my head I was getting quite competitive about something that I really don’t know much about. There was also the concern about the unknown. I have never been on a baking course let alone a vegan one.

I shouldn’t have worried. I have had the most amazing experience today; meeting new people and learning many new things. Who would have thought that you can make a form of meringue using chickpea water? Or would know that you can make a no egg pancake thing? Today reminded me of the value in face-to-face training. We do so much now by working online or remotely that we can forget how valuable it is to get together with people to learn something new or expand your knowledge.

There was another interesting part of today. We had to pair up with someone to share some of the cooking and I got together with a lovely lady called Kelly.  It was a partnership that worked well and we also had a few laughs along the way. You can imagine my surprise when I found out towards the end of the day that she worked in public relations. I am well used to being drawn when I enter a room to the people who have horses but I have never been able to do the same with people working in PR. It is a small world as the saying goes.

This was a great way of spending a wet winter Saturday, meeting new people, learning new skills and having a lot of fun on the way. It was an unexpected gift and one that has given me both lasting memories and skills, and I am grateful that I had the chance of taking part.





This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, baking, challenge, communication, PR, training and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

