Eureka – I found it

We can sit and think and worry and try to come up with the perfect solution to the problem we are confronted with. It can take days, weeks or even months to think things through. The information can be laid out in front of us and we still can’t find the way forward. 

Today I have had one of those eureka moments. They are amazing things to experience and if you haven’t had one you really need to. Eureka moments are when suddenly you find the solution, that answer that has been eluding you. 

I have been working for a few weeks on something, a substantial project that is requiring new ideas and very careful planning. Without boring you with the details it has been on my mind for a while and the fact that I couldn’t see the wood for the trees was becoming quite stressful. I wanted to find the perfect solution but in wanting that I was making it hard to find any solution. 

Then when I woke this morning and starting getting ready to face the day my mind threw up the answer. It was like a bolt out of the blue. Suddenly in my head was the solution and what I needed to do was clear. The mind is an amazingly powerful thing. I hadn’t been thinking about it for a couple of days and yet in my head my brain was still mulling it over. The cogs were obviously working behind the scenes to help me work things out. 

So what gets in the way of us having a eureka moment? Often we rush to find a solution, the first answer and try to make it work even if it isn’t the best way forward. Or we try to force things and end up pushing ourselves into dead ends, whilst also getting increasingly stressed. If you know that feeling when you are trying to sleep and can’t and you find yourself getting more and more frustrated, well that is what we do. It is what I have been doing. 

We need to give ourselves some time and space to allow the mind to do its stuff. The key for me is to cut myself some slack and be confident that the solution will make itself known when the time is right. 

This entry was posted in #ayearinblogs, creativity, happiness, ideas, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

