The end of things

This may not be viewed as one of the most upbeat blogs that I have written during 2015 but it is one I feel compelled to write. Today was a sad day with the announcement of the death of Lemmy, frontman of Motorhead, for those who don’t know. It made me reflect on what this meant to me.

Motorhead were part of my childhood and I grew up with the fast rocking tunes. He was one of those icons that lived an amazing life and took it to extremes. Lemmy lived to excess and it was all so exciting for those of us who do the 9 to 5.

Death is something that we generally struggle to deal with in modern life. We avoid talking about it, we avoid thinking about it and well basically we just avoid it. I have often wondered why. Is it because we fear change within our lives? Is it because we view it as a loss to what we have? Is it because we don’t want to think about our own mortality?

There are lots of ways to look at the loss caused by a bereavement. We can see it as an opportunity to give thanks for someone’s life, after all to die they must have lived. It is a chance to recognise what having them in our lives has given us. There are also many religious or spiritual ways to view death as a start of a journey to somewhere else.

Tomorrow I will be attending the funeral of my partner’s uncle. It seems all the more poignant because of the time of year. The end of 2015 and the start of 2016 just round the corner. It will be a time to reflect on what he meant to me, and what it meant to many other people. This should be a chance to celebrate his life and be grateful for it, rather than be sad.

I can’t say that I will not be sad or shed a tear, but I will try to focus on saying thank you for having him in my life. Whether it is someone we know or a celebrity like Lemmy that I have never met, death is difficult to deal with but cannot be avoided. I will be doing all I can tomorrow to say thank you for the life of our uncle.

This entry was posted in happiness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

