26 hours a day – please

If I had a £1 for every time I say I could do with some more hours in the day I would probably have £1,523 – or something near it. It is a regular frustration of mine that I try to pack so much into the day and many times I overestimate what I can do in 24 hours. Something inevitably has to give and often I sacrifice a decent nights sleep to be able to do everything I want to.

Unfortunately, you can only last so long with a minimum of sleep, despite what people will tell you about Margaret Thatcher. I have worked out I can probably keep going for three or four days with just a few hours sleep each night. But I pay for it and need to catch up at some point after that or I risk getting ill.

I know this isn’t just a problem for me. In the modern world we are all trying to do a lot of things at once. For many it is about working a more than full-time job, balancing the demands of family life and then trying to do some sport or pastimes as well. For me I am trying to work a full-time job, do some of my own work, look after a horse, become a dressage judge, write a number of books, er and other things as well. I don’t think it helps that I have a little notebook to write down all the ideas I have for things I want to do.

I am definitely at my best when I am busy. In the past three days I have rarely had chance to sit and relax. It has been dashing from one thing to another, getting up early and then packing a lot in. Of course, my sleep pattern has suffered and until last night I have had just a few hours sleep. There has been a lot achieved but I know I need to have time to relax. Tomorrow is a day for myself, well sort of but I still have some work and chores to do.

None of this is a moan. It is just a word to people to remember to take some time out and relax, or even try meditation so that you can keep going and make the most of every day.

This entry was posted in ablogadayinmay, work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

