Seize the day – well, after a rest

Today is a bank holiday. If you ever wondered why we have bank holidays then it goes back to the 1800s. In 1834 the Bank of England reduced the number of holidays it observed from 33 to four: 1 May (May Day), 1 November (All Saints’ Day), Good Friday and Christmas Day. This has been changed and adapted over the years and now we  have only three strict bank holidays two in May and one in August.

We often feel we have to do lots of things when we have the long bank holiday weekends. It is important to make the most of the extra free time we have whether that is going out and about or doing some DIY at home. I feel I have to pack something into every second of the day so I can look back and feel I have been productive.

It is true that modern life really is jam-packed. We are all busy, busy, busy trying to have everything a job, career, family, home life, hobbies, sporting pastimes. You name it and we all seem to be trying to squeeze it into every 24 hours. I am as bad as everyone else trying to shoehorn so much into my waking day and even curtailing sleep sometimes to get everything done.

This activity is good but we often sacrifice a bit of down time. In my childhood, which is not that long ago, Sunday’s were always a day of rest. They had to be there was nothing to do. Nothing on TV, shops were shut and there was no Internet. I remember being very bored on many Sundays but what I did have was a chance to relax and unwind. In 2015 having any time to just sit and reflect is rare. We are always within arms reach of our smartphones and ready to log on. So when do we switch off.

I can’t say I am using the bank holiday to have a well-earned rest. To start with I am sat doing work and writing this blog. I am not taking the opportunity to have some recovery time from a frenetic life. Perhaps I should. But as I only have three bank holidays to enjoy during the year rather than the 33 we used to have I will be making it count. Time to seize the day but first I might take my advice and have a brew and some time out.

Enjoy your day whatever you are doing.

This entry was posted in ablogadayinmay and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

