Positive or negative in your outlook?

Every day the headlines are of more sad and depressing stories about the negative things that are happening all around the world. These are definitely challenging and difficult times both at home and abroad. At home many people are struggling to make ends meet and abroad there is a selection of terrible stories from war through to disease, famine etc.

It is very easy to let this impact on our own views of the world and to find it increasingly difficult to hold onto a positive outlook. I know about this only too well as I am definitely a glass half empty sort of person. But I am increasingly recognising that although I may see the challenges and problems in a situation, if I carry that outlook into everything I can easily take the joy out of life.

All that isn’t too much of a problem if I am going to work on my own but if I am working with a team then my moods become increasingly important.

So many managers forget that this is one of the most important elements of leadership. How do you present yourself? What does your language, both spoken and body language, say about you? Are you the kind of person who is going to encourage creativity or do you make people want to leave?

During this year I have become more and more aware of what I put out into the universe. Not just that but the impact that it has on those around me, whether I know them or not. At a time when there is so many terrible things happening I want my legacy to be a much more uplifting and positive thing. Achieving that is not easy and I am still learning taking it a day at a time.

Today is international day of gratitude which gives you an opportunity to take a little bit of time to look at all those things that are positive in your life and say thank you. As part of my ongoing attempts to make a difference I will make sure I am focusing on the good things that I have in my life. Despite what I often think there is a lot to be thankful for.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

